The Five Precepts

Reiki is a spiritual practice and healing art

Reiki, as we know it today, began in the early 1900s. It is recorded that a Japanese man, Mikao Usui, through study, research and meditation had an experience of empowerment that led to the development of Reiki as a healing system. Usui devoted the rest of his life to practising and teaching this art of living and healing.

Over time the system of Reiki healing developed by Mikao Usui has evolved or been changed, by subsequent teachers.

Today a number of different forms, or branches, of Reiki are practised worldwide. A common element of many forms of Reiki is a set of principles or precepts.

While there are variations in the expression and interpretation of the precepts, they are all based on the original teachings of Mikao Usui.

‘The true purpose of the Reiki method is to correct the heart-mind, keep the body fit, and lead a happy life using the spiritual capabilities humans are endowed with since birth.’

The Five Precepts

Recite the five precepts morning and evening, and keep them in one’s heart.

Today, throughout the entire day:

  1.  Do not become angry
  2.  Worry about nothing
  3.  Express one’s gratitude
  4.  Be diligent in work
  5.  Be kind to others.

The above is an excerpt from the translation on a monument to Mikao Usui at the Seihoji Temple in Tokyo.

Reiki Initiation and Training